gambrel roof with dormers

I am a newbie and I am working on redesigning two different houses. I have questions for both, but for now I'll just go for one.

I have a two story dutch colonial. I am trying to recreate it in Home Designer 8.0. I have looked at pub 359 that explains how to create a gambrel roof, however, when I edit the "horizontal" walls to change the pitch and baseline, no matter what I do, the lower pitch always snaps to the upper pitch. Is it me?

Sorry

I wasn't clear. I got sidetracked because I haven't been able to even get just the gambrel roof.

The house has a gambrel roof with two dormers in the front and a shed dormer across the back of the house. Unfortunately, I currently do not have the capacity to attach photos of the house. I'll try the 359 instructions again and get back to you. If you have any other tips or suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by repete View Post
    I am trying to recreate it in Home Designer 8.0. I have looked at pub 359 that explains how to create a gambrel roof, however, when I edit the "horizontal" walls to change the pitch and baseline, no matter what I do, the lower pitch always snaps to the upper pitch. Is it me?
    This behavior sounds to me like you might have changed the pitch number but did not remove the (D) after it. The (D) stands for "Default" and if left, the software will ignore the numerical setting that precedes it and build the roof plane at the default setting.

Just something to verify.
    Home Designer Pro 8
    Home Designer Pro 10

I'm thoroughly confused....

OK, I followed "359" to the letter and the lower pitch continually snaps to the upper upon entering the upper pitch. So, as I hit build roof, I see pitch is 6 in 12. That's the pitch the lower keeps snapping back to. So I change it to 18 in 12 and low and behold, I get the roof I want. Cool.