Hybrid View

How to add a front porch - newbie here

I just bought the new Designer Architecht 2012... and maybe that was a BIG mistake. This does not seem so easy. I am trying to add a simple shed roof porch with 4 pillars, and also with a gable roof over the door. It's a typical 5-4 and a door two-story house, and all I want to do is add the porch?
    I cant seem to get the roofs to work either.... HELP!

the porch should only go on the first floor of the house... THANKS in advance to any help! I am out a ton of money with this product if i cant get it to work.

I have searched the training videos and they give cursory help on gable roof and others. I mean very basic stuff... and Where is this free database of articles? i found this forum but that's it so far.
    AND the whole point of buying this software for me was to make a picture of what is in my mind. I suppose you want me to hand sketch this and scan and upload it here...

No doubt one-on-one tutoring means more money.... yikes,by the time this is over, it might have been cheaper just to get a basic architect to do this.

My grandfather use to say the cheap way out usually costs twice as much, and boy do his words sound loud and clear now.

Here is a picture, I searched the database, to no avail.
    The closest I got was how to make a screened in porch, but that focused on the screens not building the porch,
    and
    How to customize the porch, but that focused on editing millwork assuming you already had a porch...
    I need a basic tutorial on how to make the porch.
    Here is my picture.... sorry it's hand drawn, but if I had a picture from HD, I would not be posting on this forum to begin with... that is the problem...
    I have tried A LOT on how to just add this, I get as far as the deck floor, but when I go to build the shed roof, the outcome does very crazy outputs. Like making a GIGANTIC Shed that starts at the posts... and goes to the for corner of the second floor, etc.