Lightbulb Newbie here: Material Content

I see that material questions have been asked before. I followed the advice with no luck.

I have searched for the default countertop material used by Home Designer and cannot find on any of the lists. Neither can I find any other similar materials. (I think because does not say what it is?????????) I have found the marble, slate etc. but none are similar so they cannot be the material that is being used. I went to the download area and did find other catalogs which had some similar material to I was looking for, which I downloaded, then imported. Only 3 of the new catalogs are available the others are not visible although the program said they were imported properly.

Am I looking for something that is not available? Why would the import function not work? Any thoughts?
    MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro 8,3
    Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Memory: 16 GB

Home Designer Architectural 2014
    Build 15.1.1.1x32

I would say that you are suffering from a lack of familiarity as opposed to anything else. What I wondered after reading your post is "Why do you care or why is this question important to you, in terms of its answer?".

Materials defaults, "out of the box" or otherwise are set or preset in two places for most objects:

1. Edit - Default Settings - Materials (generally)

2. Edit - Default Settings - then the specific object category (Cabinets, Walls, Furniture, etc)

2A. Edit - Default Settings - Materials - General Materials by object type

I do not understand exactly from your post what is there that shouldn't be or should be there that isn't.