Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Overlaying furniture on rugs

I'm just learning this software so forgive me if this is a rookie questions: When I add an area rug to my floorplan and then a desk (for example) on top of it (using the CTRL key to move the desk), the floorplan interprets the desk as being under the rug and will not show it or print it. The desk will show, however, in the 3d view. How can I move the rug so that it will be begind the rug?

The only way that I know of to control this is to place the rug first then the desk. Objects are drawn in the order that they are placed in the plan.

Area Rugs and Window Coverings

Your suggestion for bordered area rugs worked *perfectly* and I'm very pleased with how they came out.

I think I've also figured out what I've read in other posts about using soffits for window coverings. I got some nice 'straight on' shots of roman shades and woven wooden shades from the internet and cropped them tight; placed a soffit the right height and width but only 1" deep onto the window; then placed the window covering as a texture onto the soffit. Voila! I have exactly the shades I was looking for.

I'm pretty impressed with the functionality of this software for only $99.

Thanks a million for the ideas and suggestions!

Joyce

Placing an area rug under furniture

I would like to place an area rug under a table, but the best I can do is put it beside the table. How do I get underneath?

Hold down the Control button while dragging the rug where you want it. It may look like it's on top of the table, but in 3D view it will be correct.

Control-Drag works for any item that won't move where you want it to using the normal method.
    Kathleen Moore
    Chief X6 X5 X4 X3 X2 -- Thea Render
    www.castleview3d.com
    Email: kathleen.moore@castleview3d.com
    Blog: "Life Should Be 3D"
    Follow CastleView 3D on Facebook or Houzz

Area rugs