Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What components should I use to construct a Georgian-style Portico entrance canopy?

Hi all,

I am a newbie, both to the forum and to the Home Designer software (Suite 2014), and still finding my way around both!

I wish to apply a Georgian-style portico entrance canopy to the front of my home design and cannot find any pre-made porticos in the library ... I realise that the software is USA-based, so could I be searching using the wrong terminology?

If not, I'd be very grateful for some advice/assistance on how to construct a portico from component pieces.

Thanks in anticipation.

could you attach a picture or example of what you are looking for?

There is a Help Database article called How to create a Portico
    http://www.homedesignersoftware.com/...icle/KB-00168/

Is this what you are looking for?
    Lamina
    Pro 2014
    Pro 2012
    Architectural 9

Hi Lamina...

I have seen the 'How to' article you have kindly directed me towards (which will help me enormously in the construction process), but I am looking more for a Georgian-style portico (picture example attached) as opposed to the porch-style canopy illustrated in the article.

I have located suitable columns in the Library Browser but am stuck as to what to use for the slab-top, particularly its decorative features ... any suggestions?

Thanks again.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	portico.jpg 
Views:	995 
Size:	15.1 KB 
ID:	13784  
    Last edited by mywifenow; 08-29-2013 at 10:15 AM.

I am using a Soffit to simulate a three foot wall located behind the kitchen sink cabinets.
    I hope your summer is just like Sexy Bikini filled with surprises.

Or you can import a ready-made portico from http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/